Search For The New Land (NEW LP)

Morgan Lee

Two months after recording what would become his hit record The Sidewinder, trumpeter Lee Morgan returned to Van Gelder Studio in February 1964 to create his masterful album Search for the New Land. For the session, Morgan assembled a sextet consisting of several young stars of the Blue Note roster including Herbie Hancock on piano, Grant Green on guitar, and Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, along with the dynamic rhythm team of bassist Reggie Workman and drummer Billy Higgins. The album opens with the expansive 16-minute title track, a musical odyssey that alternates a shimmering rubato theme with a loping exploration by each soloist. Four more indelible Morgan originals follow including jaunty numbers such as “”The Joker”” and “”Morgan the Pirate,”” as well as the plaintive ballad “”Melancholee.””

SKU: 602458319941 Category:
Version: Classic Vinyl Series 180G
Genre: Jazz
Media Type: LP
Label: Blue Note Records